Yellow. Not Yellow, Gold. Seriously, it’s Yellow.

photo by malalena

I have problems with yellow and orange. Always have. The same way my daughter dislikes the numbers 8 and 9 because “they’re just creepy,” I have probelms with yellow and orange. It makes no sense. I like sunflowers and daisies and they are most certainly sunny shades, and I even painted my walls a creamy gold (NOT YELLOW) shade. But yellow creeps me out for some reason. I think I know why I don’t like orange.

Once I had a horrible seizure as a child and, because of synesthesia, the seizure became “orange”. I’ve written a bit about Alice in Wonderland Syndrome, but basically it’s related to synesthesia, where the brain processes sight, sound, taste and other senses differently, sometimes overlapping them or putting one where it typically shouldn’t be. When I had seizures, they were sometimes “yellow” and, as I said, the worst was “orange”. Orange, to me, is especially associated with pain.

I like gold, though. It’s sort of orangey-yellowy, isn’t it? I dunno.

Tell me.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Yellow. Not Yellow, Gold. Seriously, it’s Yellow.

  1. It’s so nice to see that other people have things they don’t like but aren’t quite sure why. I have certain words that just cannot flow naturally out of my mouth or my fingertips but no real reason why I don’t like them, they are just weird to me. I also have an odd aversion to bunnies.

  2. I don’t like most yellows and orange tones, either. Soft, buttery yellows? Sure. Most of the rest. Eeewww. Except, like you said, in nature. People buy brand new bright yellow cars and when I see one, I think, “You paid good money for that? With all of the possible choices, you chose that???”

    And neon anything gives me the willies.

    Oh, and rice. Rice gives me the heebie-jeebies.

    I’m blogging my way back from Z to A and my “Y” post is right here.

  3. I understand disliking, or even hating, a color. I have never heard of thinking a number is “creepy.” Your daughter is quite a character!

  4. It makes sense that you identify a color with something negative or hurtful no different than any other memory trigger. I’m sorry that yours is yellow and orange, though, as I think they’re generally such happy colors.

    I’m hosting Z to A in May, but I’m blogging at: Ross County Roundup

  5. Yellow always makes me smile. I honestly can’t think of any color that gives the heebie jeebies.