Destination, Determination, Deliberation: A Metaphor

What these three words have in common, besides the fact that they all start with the letter “D”, are excellent nouns (and quite alliterative, at that), and are part of the mantra that any good apparation teacher will teach you, they also provide context for where I’m headed with my writing.  Unless, of course, I apparate into a tree or something, which would completely screw up my schedule.

With apologies to the Ministry of Magic, and a tip of my hat to J.K. Rowling, I’m envisioning my destination: a position as a news writer or freelancer with a regular income.  Doesn’t really matter where at this point, as long as it’s something I can list on my annual Christmas letter.  Figure out how to do it, and it’s just a matter of steering myself in that direction and not allowing myself to be distracted.  Ooh!  Two more excellent “D” words.

Destination, determination, deliberation...

My determination comes next –the dogged inability or confirmed choice to never let go of that goal, and to do what’s necessary to get there.  My kids come first, then my husband… but after their needs are met, I need to do this.

Deliberation speaks to the thought that is focused on getting there.  I can’t allow myself to be distracted and I must keep myself focused on the goal.  To be deliberate is to not be rushed or hurried by my own impatience or the influence of others.  It’s a matter of staying the course and keeping on keeping on.  No rush, no hurry.  Just keep going.

Unless I get splinched, which any Harry Potter fan will tell you happens when one becomes distracted or unfocused, causing parts of the body to not move with the rest of the whole, I should be in fairly good shape by the time I reach my goal.  I can do it.  Just this morning I received an acceptance email to join the news team at Gather… so we’re on the right track.

…But just in case, I’m keeping some essence of dittany nearby.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Destination, Determination, Deliberation: A Metaphor

  1. I’ll be doggedly following your determination towards destination.

  2. Great post! I believe you will accomplish all your dreams and more! 🙂

  3. Well doggone, that’s darn good 🙂

  4. Darling, you did it! 🙂 Great D post!

  5. My favorite D post of the Day!

  6. Fun post from an HP fan.

  7. Super post. I’d reply with something wildly alliterative but all the good ones are taken…

  8. I’m the splinchmeister – staying focused on anything is difficult for me. But I will deliberate about adopting determination as my goal to bring about my destination.
    http://myheartblogstoyou.blogspot.com/

  9. Oh, I’m glad i stumbled in in time for this! Apparition is indeed a perfect writing metaphor! I love harry potter, but had completely missed this brilliant point. Well done!